Volunteer opportunities

Sunday morning service schedule:
8:30am, 9:45am, 11am

Wednesdays at Calvary takes place during Spring and Fall academic semesters.

Dinner 5-6pm

AWANA 5:30-7:30pm

Youth Activities 6-7:30pm

Equipping Classes 6-7pm

  • d:6 Children's & Preschool Ministry

    Teach and provide childcare for children ages birth-5th grade during 9:45am and 11am Sunday morning services, Wednesdays at Calvary, and occasional special events. Background check required.

    Heather Thatcher, Children's Ministry Director: children@cbclascruces.org

    Cera Talamantes, Preschool Coordinator: 

    cera@cbclascruces.org

  • nine // twenty // two student ministry

    Work with youth in 6th-12th grade Sunday mornings (11am), Wednesday evenings (6-7:30pm), and special events. Background check required.

    Pastor Nate Alaniz, Student Ministry: nate@cbclascruces.org

  • Prayer ministry

    Get involved with group prayer Wednesdays from 6-7pm in Room 32. All are welcome! 


    Pastor Bill Eastwood: bill@cbclascruces.org

  • food closet

    Check-in visitors and distribute groceries to the needy on Wednesdays from 10am-12pm.

    Kathy Armstrong, Calvary Office Administrator: kathy@cbclascruces.org

  • greeters & welcome center

    Cheerfully welcome and assist church-goers during Sunday morning services. Answer questions about events and classes, and guide visitors to locations around the building.

    Ana Powers: nm.anniemae96@gmail.com

  • cafe diem/ baristas

    Prepare coffee, refill drink supplies, and greet cafe visitors.

    Pastor Bill Eastwood: bill@cbclascruces.org

  • Kitchen ministry

    Prep and serve the meals for Wednesdays at Calvary dinners at 5pm (typically only during school semesters).

    Pat Henderson: paterson29@gmail.com

  • Maintenance Crew

    General building maintenance and small construction projects around the church Thursday mornings from 8am-12pm.

    Gary Henderson, Calvary Administrator: 

    ghenderson49@gmail.com

  • GroundsKeeping/ Landscaping

    Landscaping and exterior maintenance Thursday mornings from 8am-12pm.

    Gary Henderson, Calvary Administrator: 

    ghenderson49@gmail.com

  • Singers & Musicians

    Music leaders for Sunday morning services and special events.

    Please visit the Worship Arts Page for more information.


    Marian Archuleta, Worship Arts Assistant: 

    music@cbclascruces.org

  • Ushers

    Welcome church attendees into the Welcome Center Sunday mornings. Guide people to available seating, assist people with special needs (hearing impaired and wheelchair assistance), collect offering, and distribute communion elements.

    Pastor Gregg Higgins, Worship Arts: 

    gregg@cbclascruces.org

  • Photography, Art, & Design

    Showcase your work at Calvary! Provide existing pieces to appear on slides, publications, and videos or assist in creating materials. All mediums welcome, however digital formats preferred.

    All submitted work will be subject to staff approval as well as sizing and minor edits to fit within project design specifications. All artists credited for their work.


    Submit work or questions to Seth Powers, Creative Media Director: seth@cbclascruces.org

  • Tech Team

    Sound mixing, slides and projection, and video live stream operation for Sunday morning services and special events. Please visit the Worship Arts Page for descriptions of positions.


    Marian Archuleta, Worship Arts Assistant: 

    music@cbclascruces.org

  • Women's Ministry team

    Work on a creative team to plan and host outreach events for the women of Las Cruces.


    Pam Bornhauser: phbornhauser@gmail.com

  • Busy Hands

    Work on sewing and craft projects in a friendly group setting. Completed creations are auctioned every November to raise money for the Lottie Moon Christmas Offering. Meets Mondays (except holidays) in Room 11 from 9am to 12pm. 

    Susan Wright: sw1914@gmail.com